An Inked Christmas

Posted: December 21, 2008 in Church, Crosspoint, Family, Music

It’s 7:00 p.m., and I hate it that this weekend is coming to a close.  Though incredibly busy, it’s been an absolute blast.

FRIDAY:

  • Had our staff Christmas dinner at Bonefish Grill.  Great time unwinding with the staff after an awesome 2008.
  • Lobster Thermidor Mahi Mahi.  Awesome.
  • We ate, talked, laughed – especially at Jack’s cameraphone.  When he said “It’s got a flash,” he should’ve said it’s got a spotlight that will shine through your skull.
  • Stayed up until 1:30 a.m. editing video for Sunday.  Wanted to knock it out so I’d have Saturday free to get ready for our Christmas party.  Found out late yesterday that videos you render while incredibly sleepy at 1 a.m. have goofy errors in them.  D’oh!  Had time to fix it, though…

SATURDAY:

  • Our small group (life group, community group, you name it…) Christmas party rocked!
  • Ordered 8 lbs. of Royal Red shrimp from Billy’s Seafood down near Gulf Shores on the Bon Secour River.  It was expensive (and cost nearly as much to ship), but the food and – more importantly, the people in our group – are worth it.
  • After a frantic last-minute assembly of my turkey fryer, Jason fried up a turkey.  It was pretty awesome, too.
  • Anne made apple dumplings – AWESOME (apparently, you CAN bake with Mountain Dew). 
  • Casseroles, REAL hot chocolate, this make-you-fat-just-looking-at-it chocolate cherry thing… You can’t say we don’t eat good at Crosspoint functions.
  • My small group is as much my family as my real family.  This dinner and this time with my “extended family” may be the best dinner of the season.

SUNDAY:

  • Wrapped up “Inked” this morning.  Holy smokes, what a series!  If this series hasn’t fired you up about reaching people far from God, I don’t know what will.  As Dave puts it, “your battery might be dead.”  I can’t say anything about this series better than Dave does here on his blog.
  • Got a good laugh when Frosty and The Grinch ran down in front of the stage and accidentally kicked out an extension cable, knocking out our lights and our bass amp mid-worship.  I tried to arrange a “melt Frosty” after-church gathering, but I don’t think people knew I was kidding :-\ .  Honestly, it was pretty funny once we learned WHY the lights/bass went out.  Did I mention I love my Crosspoint family?
  • We re-wrote “Mary, Did You Know?” to be more “in sync” with the vibe at Crosspoint (i.e., what if Evanescence sang Chrsitmas songs…).  Amber knocked it out of the park.  Wow!  I don’t think I’ll ever want to listen to that song again any other way.  Studio time, Chris?
  • This “un-Christmas” series has put me more in the spirit of Christmas than anything we’ve ever done.
  • You can watch today’s service (videos, songs, message) by clicking here.

Great weekend.

Leave a Reply

