My Christmas List:

Posted: December 19, 2008 in Family, Happenings, Perspective

Okay, I’m all for the big spiritual Christmas lists I see out there:  I want everyone saved this Christmas.  I want humility for Christmas.  I don’t want anything for Christmas.  That stuff’s always “duh” when I read it, because – of course – I want to see God pour out blessings on people like crazy on Christmas and on every other day of the year.  So if you’re expecting a spiritual list, that’s not what this is.  I can make you one, though, if it will make you happy.

No, this list…this list is an old-fashioned, kid-browsing-through-the-toy-section-of-the-JCPenny-wish-book kind of list.  You know – that kind of list where I understand and expect that Santa isn’t going to bring me everything (Santa is pretty quick to say “no” at my house, anyway), but you browse anyway and dream about what you want pretty much every day before Christmas. 

So I’m just throwing it ALL out there:

  1. A remanufactured 351 or 302 engine for a 1968 Mustang.  Preferably a bit more “ooomph” than mere stock.
  2. 4 American Racing Torq Thurst D wheels (or Vision Wheel equivalent); 15x7s – for the Mustang.
  3. A complete front suspension rebuild kit – for the Mustang.
  4. A .357 Magnum revolver -0r- some sort of compact .40 or .45.
  5. An AR15 rifle.  Why?  Shooting ranges.  Duh.  Rumor has it you can actually hunt with them.
  6. A 15″ or 17″ Macbook Pro with 7200 rpm hard drive.  -or- the kick-butt-est Gateway PC laptop they make.
  7. A POD X3 Live guitar multi-effects pedal.
  8. An adapter for my 2006 F150 that provides a line-in port for my iPod/iPhone.
  9. Good noise-cancelling headphones (Not the Bose, but some good but cheaper equivalent).
  10. Laminate wood flooring for my house  -or- that cool concrete look.
  11. A Pool.  Who doesn’t want one?  (You lie if you say no, even if the maintence frightens you).
  12. Resistance 2 for the PS3.

Ah, it feels good just to pour it out there like a kid.  But the adult in me remembers that it’s not so much about what I want, as it’s about others.  If my own spirit is not generous, then how can I just want, want, want…

Sorry, I lied.  There was a spiritual component.  Funny how God reminds you of things in the middle of doing something decidedly unspiritual.

What’s on your Christmas list?

Leave a Reply

