Life is crazy, dawg!

Posted: November 17, 2008 in Church, Crosspoint, Family, Happenings

Wasn’t it just August?  Where did Halloween go?  Thanksgiving is next week!!  Life truly passes in the blink of an eye, and I’m learning (re-learning) that if you do not take the time to notice what’s happening around you, you’ll miss it.

  • Thursday, Friday, and Saturday were “blurs” that sped past as I crammed a week’s worth of work into 3 days, having been at The Sticks conference on Monday-Wednesday.
  • Thanks to my wife Stacey for filming the video with Brian and Jeremy on Tuesday while I was out.  It turned out good, and the crowd laughed yesterday.  I’ll upload the video later…
  • The driving part of the trip to/from Ohio last week was largely uneventful.  I got to sleep and NOT drive the whole way up there, but drove a good portion of the way home through several downpours.  NOT fun in a van with bad wipers driving down highways you are not familiar with.
  • Driving got me thinking, though:  If we’d had some sort of bad accident, it would’ve wiped out the whole staff.  Yikes.  Sure, no pressure on driving safely there, though I think my fingernails are still stuck in the steering wheel of the rental van.
  • The van had tire pressure guages built-in (you could see the actual PSI on the dash), an .mp3 input on the stereo, 2 zone climate control, a fancy trip computer, but NO power mirrors.  HUH?
  • Enjoyed talking with and getting to know Eric Taylor, pastor of Journey Church down in Auburn.  As Crosspoint people, we can (and should) really celebrate what God is doing in other places/other churches.  It’s amazing to get to know people like Eric and really hear firsthand what God is doing elsewhere.  Makes an already-big God seem even bigger!  (Well, duh…).
  • Watching Perry Noble via video yesterday was awesome.  Though the use of his video was a last minute thing because of Dave’s illness, his words couldn’t have been more relevant to Crosspoint and where we are in the growth of the church.
  • I have a love/hate relationship with musical technology.  My Vox Valvetronix half-stack is back from being repaired, and it sounds awesome!  On the other hand, my $$$$ Taylor T5 sounded like poo-doo at church yesterday.  Sup with that?  Maybe it was just the battery…  If not, there’s always eBay.
  • In the realm of the unexpected:  My wife got a pistol permit last week.  That either (1) scares me for my life or (2) fills me with pride that this little girl from Owego, NY has nearly completed her transformation into a southern woman who likes pickup trucks, the University of Alabama, and shooting.  Funny thing is, she doesn’t own a pistol.  Yet.
Leave a Reply

