Timeless…

Posted: November 5, 2008 in Crosspoint, Music, Perspective, Worship

These words were written in 1865, and appeared in hymnals in 1868.  We’re doing it this Sunday (2008).

I hear the Savior say
Thy strength indeed is small
Child of weakness….watch and pray
Find in me….thine all in all

Jesus paid it all
All to Him I owe
Sin hath left a crimson stain
He washed it white as snow

Lord, now indeed I find
Thy power and Thine alone
Can change the leper’s spots
And melt the heart of stone

For nothing good have I
Whereby Thy grace to claim
I’ll wash my garments white
In the blood of Calvary’s Lamb

And when before thy throne
I stand in Him complete
Jesus died my soul to save
My lips shall still repeat

Jesus paid it all
All to Him I owe
Sin hath left a crimson stain
He washed it white as snow

As a worship leader in a contemporary church, I find that I have to take deliberate caution when moving forward with “new” music in a way that does not neglect the past.  If we merely write off all that has come before us as “ancient” or “out-dated,” we risk refusing to acknowledge the inspiration God visited upon artists and poets of times past.

Though the language is more “King James” than is commonly spoken today, the truth of these words is timeless.  Jesus DID pay it all.  All to him I owe.  Sin left on me a blood-soaked stain that only Jesus could wash away.

I heard an arrangement of this song by Kristian Stanfill this week, and I was deeply moved.  Sunday, I hope God stirs in you the same way he stirred in me when I listened to these words penned over 140 years ago.

Comments
  1. Megan says:

    I can’t wait to hear it!

  2. lynnpittman says:

    You guys did such an AWESOME job with this song today. Wednesday night I was just talking about this scripture, “Though my sins are as scarlet, they will be washed as white as snow!” Thank you for remembering the past! We needed to remember it often! I love Crosspoint and I love worshiping with you guys! Did I say the worship team is AWESOME?!!!!!!

  3. Julie says:

    This song was great Sunday. Thanks for doing it!!

Leave a Reply

