Post-election ponderings…

Posted: November 5, 2008 in Perspective

Right now, I am sure that blogs, web sites, news programs, and even twitter feeds are filling up with reactions about Barack Obama’s election to the presidency of the United States.  I’m also sure the opinions are as polarized as ever, and, tonight, many people are either celebrating or weeping.  By this time tomorrow, we will all probably be sick of the commentary on both sides (if we are not already).

However you are reacting, history happened on Nov. 4, 2008.  Obama is the first black president-elect in the history of the United States.  Regardless of political opinion and agenda, I think his election is – at the very least – an historic expression of freedom, a triumph over a history of racism in this country, and a reminder that American is a place where anything is possible.  I think all Americans should find something to celebrate in that (even if only for a moment, if you fear Obama’s political agenda).

But in light of all of this, I have only one thing really going through my head over and over right now… And oddly enough, it’s merely the words of an old hymn:

My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.  I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly trust in Jesus’ name.

On Christ the Solid Rock I stand, all other ground is sinking sand…

I don’t know why this particular hymn is resonating through my mind.  It has to be the first verse:  “My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.”  In light of all that has happened in our elections tonight, my hope is not built around politicians, even though words like “hope” and “change” have been a buzzwords surrounding both candidates.  My hope is not built around the person I voted for today at the polls.  It is not even in America itself.  My hope is in Jesus Christ.  Period.  Long after Barack Obama has passed into history, long after his successor has passed into history, my God will still be God.  My Savior will still be my savior.

Though I’m certainly proud to live in this great country and that I get to witness tonight’s history-in-the-making event, I choose to pour my time and energy not into a person bound by history, but into the Author of history himself.  Because in the end, it’s only the power of God that can bring hope and truly change people’s lives from the inside out.  I would never exchange that for anything.

Comments
  1. Jawana says:

    Kevin,
    I have to take issue with the fact that everyone is calling Obama the “first african american president” Truth be told, he is only HALF african american. It just really upsets me that he hardly acknowledges the fact that his mother was white. Not that I think he needs to start every conversation with that fact, but in my opinion he is denying half of who he truly is. It would be like Shayla trying to deny the fact that she is half african american. I want her to acknowledge both aspects of her race… not just one. Same goes for Kyle. Don’t get me wrong… I am very excited that the American public has overcome a great hurdle in terms of racial divide by electing someone who is even part africn american…. I just wish that he had better stands on issues that are important to me as a Christian.

  2. I referred to him as black rather than “African-American” for that reason (though I may just be getting hung up on semantics in today’s politically correct society). Still, I understand where you ae coming from. When it boils down to it, once you put all “historical moment” rhetoric and race identity aside, the underlying political issues are still a MAJOR concern.

    I think the moment is still one to celebrate, given that the public did overcome a great racial hurdle in electing him – as you said. However, even though that moment is historic, only time will tell if the American people have elected the best man for the job – regardless of race.

Leave a Reply

