Off-itis.

Posted: September 17, 2008 in Perspective

You ever have one of those mornings when you wake up and everything is just “off?”  I don’t always know what causes it.  I just know it happens.  Maybe it’s the resut of a bad night’s sleep.  Maybe it’s stress over some upcoming event or a decision.  Maybe it’s an argument with a spouse or a friend.  Maybe it’s an anxiety attack.  Maybe it’s a spiritual attack.  Maybe it’s that snowballing effect that happens when life throws lots of things at you at once.  Suddenly life becomes a lot like swimming in quicksand:  You can move, but each stroke gets more and more tiring, and you’re slowly sinking.

For some reason I woke up feeling this way this morning.  It could be 3.5 hours of sleep last night because my mind raced all night long.  It could be some decisions that are coming up for me.  It could be that I’m thinking about some friends of mine who are going through a very hard situation right now, and all I can do is watch them go through it.  It could merely be my own anxiety attack…or Satan attacking me trying to drag me and my whole family down.

It could be that I haven’t spent much time with God in the past few days.

Problem is, I’m always looking for the WAY out of this out-of-sync feeling, and not the WHO.  Psalm 46:10 simply states, “Be still and know that I am God.”  I learned a long time ago that the original verb usage in this verse is more accurately translated, “Be stilled… and know that I am God.”  Wow, that’s an amazing thing:  It’s not something we can do.  It’s not a 12-step-method to quieting anxiety.  It’s allowing God to “still” us when everything becomes chaotic.  It’s letting him grab our attention and just being in his presence.  It doesn’t magically make the stresses of life go away, but it reminds you that in everything we face we should know that God is God and that is all that matters.

It defies our logic to make reason out of everything.  It defies our desire to fix things that break in our lives, or even our hearts.  It takes us beyond the wondering whether everything will turn out alright.

It’s an encounter with a holy (wholly “other”) God – a God who brings order to chaos by his very nature.  It’s simply knowing that when the chaos of life takes over, God has not changed, and His presence is right here, right now, and if we will allow him to still us we can beat back the chaos – not because we found a technique, but because we found God, and He becomes all we see.

And in the end, isn’t that all that matters?

Comments
  1. THE J-Mo says:

    Are you cramping? Feeling bloated?

Leave a Reply

