Okay, I get it…

Posted: September 16, 2008 in Happenings

I have never watched “Lost.”  I haven’t watched it for a couple of reasons: (1) I missed the pilot episode and much of season 1 and (2) the picture on local channels sucks on DirecTV HD sucks (think low resolution of low resolution).

Okay, #2 is just annoying.  But #1 is the key – if you miss out on episodes of a show whose plot spans the entire season (or seasons), you simply have no idea what’s going on even when you want to watch.  Plus, I hate “committing” to a TV show.  Rick and Bubba call this “appointment TV,” and if you’ve got kids, church functions, and other activities, it’s very hard to keep that “appointment.”

I haven’t even borrowed the DVDs, because – once again – after missing EVERY episode up to this point, I’d be watching TV for like a solid week just to know what’s going on.  Okay, it’s not the watching TV for a week thing that gets to me.  That would be great, if life allowed for it today.  Heh.

I realize that not watching “Lost” is a serious omission for a sci-fi fan like me.  Though I’d rather be kicked in the groin by a mule before I’d ever attend sci-fi conventions dressed up as a wookie or ask my wife to be Princess Leia for Halloween (or anything else for that matter), the creative, imaginitive person in me really enjoys good science fiction.  (Relax, it’s not all I watch, so you can put away your “beat-the-nerd” sticks).

So when SciFi channel re-premiered the show on their network last night (by showing the first 4 episodes), we ordered pizza, sat back, and began watching (and not in crappy local lo-definition, either…woohoo!).

So now, I “get it,” I suppose.  I don’t know if I”m hooked yet, and I still don’t know squat about the show after only 4 episodes, but I’ll watch if SciFi keeps airing it.

In the meantime I’ll stay hooked on “House,” “Psych,” “Monk,” “Burn Notice,” “Smallville,” “Stargate: Atlantis,” “Battlestar Galactica,” and re-runs of “Everbody Loves Raymond.”

Now where die I put that lightsaber replica?

Leave a Reply

