Hotlanta

Posted: July 17, 2008 in Uncategorized

Blogging from Stone Mountain, GA today (suburban Atlanta).  It’s been a great couple of days, and I’m not looking forward to driving home.  Oh, well.  It’s only 4 hours.  But being here got me thinking about things I like and dislike about this great old city.

LIKES:

  • Family – Mom, 2 aunts, 2 uncles, cousins – all live here.
  • Memories – I grew up here.  My house.  My old room.  The yard.  The neighborhood.  All that nostalgic stuff.
  • Stone Mountain – it’s a big rock.  A cool one.  It’s got cable cars and laser shows.  It’s 5 minutes away.
  • The church I grew up in – Smoke Rise Baptist Church.  Great church.  Great people.
  • Trees.  I have no trees.  Decatur is practically tree-less compared to this place.
  • They have everything here – every place you could conceive to shop, eat, or play.
  • Multi-ethnicity.  This is a very metropolitan area, where people from all kinds of races/religions/walks of life exist.
  • Culture.  That’s pronounced “cull-chur” for those of you in North Alabama who have never heard this word.

DISLIKES:

  • Traffic.  Duh.  If you live in Decatur – or even Huntsville – you do NOT know traffic until you have spent time during rush hour here.
  • People.  This is a very crowded place.
  • You can’t really water anything, because several million people share water from an oversized creek.  No washing cars, either.  Nada.  Zilch.
  • It’s 4 hours away from Decatur instead of 2.
  • Eastern time zone.  Dang, mornings come early.  And Leno isn’t on until 11:00.
  • My best friends live in Decatur, not here.
  • It’s expensive.  I haven’t seen a house for sale around here for less than $300,000.  Ouch.
Comments
  1. THE J-Mo says:

    Oh yes… the Atlanta traffic is legendary. Traffic in Atlanta make a high-traffic day on the Beltline in Decatur look like the drive-thru line at a McDonalds.

    I was there several times years ago for a week at a time getting my Cisco certifications. I stayed at a hotel near where my classes were but saw the new every morning with the commute times from the suburbs. 2-3 hours coming IN sometimes. The SAME going home in some cases. So, with a 6 hour round-trip + 5 work days = an additional 30 hours to your 40 hour workweek for a total of 70.

    Sheesh.

  2. Jason says:

    I never thought I would have seen the word culture be synonomous with “it’s a big rock. A cool one. It’s got cable cars and laser shows”. Now that’s culture.

  3. J-MO: it’s amazing (insane) that people commute 2-3 hours 5 days a week. What’s even more amazing is when that “normal” commute regularly faces some malfunction, like when my cousin’s (short) 30 minute commute turned into a 6-hour drive home after a gas main break near I-85 north out of the city.

    JASON: Okay, I don’t care who you are…Stone Mountain IS cool… sure, it’s a geological oddity that it’s a big mountain-sized piece of granite in the middle of a suburban city (with tons of other things to do already), BUT…there’s a ton of things to do around there for families… concerts, camping, hiking, the laser show (nothing quite like theirs anywhere else), the rides, the history…there’s more to do in that one park than in our whole freakin’ town (where we get excited about 1 or 2 fireworks and balloons…I mean, NOTHING is as exciting as having 40,000 people fight traffic and bad parking to see/hear “3-2-1…glow!” Whoopy-freakin-whee!).

    So yes…the word “culture” applies, you uncultured redneck 🙂 .

  4. Jason says:

    I seem to recall a certain short, balding, MANdolin playing fellow right there with the uncultured redneck watching the 3-2-1 glow….All I was saying was giant rock + laser show = culture? I guess if you are enjoying a perfectly aged bottle of Boone’s Farm Strawberry Hill, you could say culture…..Ya, Stone Mountain is much better than Decatur.

  5. Jason says:

    Oh and I have seen some really cultured people sitting in Atlanta traffic…..you cultured redneck.

  6. THE J-Mo says:

    Having been to Stone Mountain before, I have to agree that it’s a pretty cool place. The laser show I saw there was well done and the fireworks were unique in the fact that they were exploding right in FRONT of the rock and the sound of the explosions comes right back at you off the rock instead of radiating all around when fireworks explode in the sky.

    I’d go again.

  7. Yeah, Jason, there’s nothing quite like getting flipped off by the cultured guy who cut YOU off in traffic. But at least people in Atlanta know how to drive 😉 . People around here drive like they’ve never been on the road with another car and they do things like hit pickup trucks parked on the street.

    As for the balloon glow my fellow fat, balding, MANdolin-defending friend …I take what culture I can get around here. Then I go home and take a shower. Heh.

    And for the record: The Laser Show can kick the Balloon glows A–.

  8. Jason says:

    I think there is more sitting in cars going on in Atlanta than driving in cars. I will however agree that people in Decatur do not know how to drive.

  9. Jason says:

    Oh and I didn’t call you fat, Fatty McFat A….Butt. See ya in a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

