Sunday re-cap

Posted: May 26, 2008 in Church, Crosspoint, Family, Happenings, Music, Worship

Man, I am all used up tonight!  This morning was unusually busy for me, since I played the role of worship leader AND preacher this morning, giving Dave the week off (and the first opportunity he’s had in 6 years to sit with his wife during church).  I’ll recap my message when it’s not 2:15 a.m. and I should be in bed…but I will say that I spoke about an issue that has been pressing on my own heart lately and convicting me, and I think it was a topic we all need to think about.  If you want to hear the message, click here and follow the instructions on the page.

The worship set was a fun one this morning:

  1. The Noise We Make – Passion Worship Band
  2. We Won’t Be Quiet – David Crowder Band
  3. Salvation – Passion Worship Band
  4. Song of Hope – Robbie Seay Band
  5. Holiness – Sonic Flood (?)

“Holiness” is a song we have not done in a LONG, LONG time.  I had retired the song, since we have sung it so much in the past.  But the lyrics, specifically “take my mind, transform it,” were incredibly relevant to the message and I thought it would be great to close out the service with the song.  So we dusted it off, and re-wrote the song to be heavier/more driving, and I think it came out well.  Electric guitars with lots of distortion (think:  metalheads would be happy) can do amazing things for a song :-).

Amazingly, I read on Dave’s blog that 3 people put their commitment in Christ today.  That blows me away, not because it happened on a Sunday when I was speaking, but because God works no matter who’s onstage…whether through us or in spite of us (I can never tell which…heh).  But those commitments do remind me all over again why we do what we do at Crosspoint, and why doing it to the best of our ability is so important:  People’s lives hang in the balance.  It’s humbling to be a part of the process in any capacity.

*****

After a long nap this afternoon, we took our kids out to Point Mallard to see the fireworks.  It was a pretty good show, though my kids (especially Zachary) were a bit scared of the noise and how close we were to the show.  We were close enough to see the guy walking on the launch array using a flare to light the fuses of the fireworks.  The only bad part was that we were on the lawn only about 30 minutes, but sitting in traffic to leave almost an hour.  Gotta love crowds.  Still, it was a great way to spend time with my family and my friends.

Now, it’s 2:30 in the morning.  I can’t sleep, because I napped too long this afternoon.  At least I can sleep late in the morning.  No school, no work… Just sleep.

Leave a Reply

