Blasphemy

Posted: May 13, 2008 in Uncategorized

Big Bob Gibson’s is not the best BBQ on the planet.

There.  I said it.  Get over it.

Actually, I’m only blogging about this after getting into a conversation with a potential neighbor yesterday about good BBQ places in Decatur.  He asked if Big Bob’s was as good as he’d heard.

I paused and thought about how others have answered that very same question:  “What they sell you is not what they win competitions with.”  “I like the sauce, but not the meat.”  “Whit’s is better.”

Strangely, the debate around here is nearly Auburn vs. Alabama in scope.  There are those who love Big Bob’s.  There are those who love Whit’s or some other place.  I’ve literally witnessed a yelling match between two people trying to settle the issue once and for all.  And sometimes, it feels like blasphemy to speak ill of Big Bob’s.

So I answered my potential neighbor with these words of wisdom:  “Bib Bob’s is good, but it’s no Jim N’ Nick’s.”  If you’ve ever eaten at Jim N’ Nick’s down in B’ham, then you know, that while Big Bob’s is good (especially their potatoes), it’s just not the same.  Full Moon, Dreamland, Johnny Ray’s, or Broadway – I think I have enjoyed BBQ better at all those Birmingham restaurants than I ever have here.  Heck, I’ve even eaten better food at bigger chains like Famous Dave’s or Tony Roma’s.

So call me a blasphemer.  Shun me for my taste in food.  Kick me out of the Big Bob fanboy club if you have to.  If you love it, great.  I know that ignorance can be bliss ;-).

*****

What is your favorite BBQ in Decatur?

If you can’t answer that question easily, then let’s road trip to Jim N’ Nicks.  Any day.  Any time.

I mean it.

Comments
  1. Jason says:

    Whits has the best ribs in town, when Weavers was open they had the best stew. For me Gibson’s actually has the best tater salad, kinda sad considering they sell BBQ there too (so they say)

  2. Julie says:

    Betty has the best potato salad!!

  3. Jason says:

    ya but Betty doesn’t own a BBQ stand, but I will agree, Betty makes the best tater salad IN THE WORLD!!!!!

Leave a Reply

