Catching up

Posted: May 1, 2008 in Uncategorized

Everything’s moving at the speed of life (I say “life” because I believe it’s faster than light…heh).  That today is May 1 nearly overwhelms me.  Anyway, here’s a quick list of the things going on:

  • Sunday was awesome.  I managed to not injure myself while singing “Best of You” by the Foo Fighters or “Embracing Accusation” by Shane and Shane.  Since we opened with Best of You, I was worried that all the near-yelling in that song would kill my voice for the following worship set.  But in the end, everything came out great.  Here’s the songset:
  1. Best of You – Foo Fighters
  2. Happy Day – Tim Hughes
  3. Your Grace Is Enough – Chris Tomlin
  4. Embracing Accusation – Shane and Shane
  5. Here Is Our King – David Crowder Band
  • We had 189 in church on Sunday.  Yes, I’m counting the numbers, because people matter.  And though we do what we do simply out of obedience (and would continue to do it without growth because that’s what Christ asks of us), it sure does encourage us !) to see the whole church-thing working (i.e., connecting with unchurched people).  Awesome!
  • I can’t wait until this Sunday.  I know what’s going to happen, and it’s going to be amazing to see/hear!
  • I might have a stomach bug today.  Oh, joy.  Usually, when I catch a stomach virus, I don’t throw up, but I do have a lot of personal reading time, if you catch my drift.  On the bright side, owning a laptop PC means I can remain productive even if I have a change of “office.”  Heh.
  • I spent a lot of time pressure-washing my driveway yesterday, and I’ve got a long way to go.  If there’s any activity out there that will teach you patience, it’s pressure-washing a driveway – moving inches at a time, covering a LARGE area.
  • My kids have only a couple of weeks of school left (Zachary – 2 weeks, Kailyn – 3 weeks).  That overwhelms me.  My daughter is finishing Kindergarten.  Didn’t she just start????
  • On a more serious note:  It’s been one year since my father died.  That, too, feels like yesterday.  I’m handling it surprisingly well, but I still have moments where it all seems surreal, like it wasn’t supposed to happen.  I’ll always miss him (until I can see him again when we’re both in heaven).
  • I accidentally tuned to American Idol last night (I’ve never watched that show on purpose, sorry), only to see Neil Diamond onstage.  I had flashbacks of music I remember from my childhood (in the mid 1970s), and I curled up on the floor in a fetal position crying, “There’s no place like 2008, there’s no place like 2008.”
  • I flipped channels again only to inadvertantly land on “Deal or No Deal.”  Howie Mandel – Does anyone else care that one of his earliest works was the voice of Gizmo in the movie Gremlins?  I have NO IDEA how I know that.  Must be that uber-nerd gene.

 

Comments
  1. Jason says:

    Neil Diamond is timeless…….SWEEEEEET CAROLIIIINNNEE – DUH – DUH – DUH – GOOD TIMES NEVER FELT SO GOOD!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

