Manly movies

Posted: April 22, 2008 in Uncategorized

I’ve decided we need “manly movie” night for Crosspoint guys and their friends.  Basically, I have a lot of movies on my shelf that are either (1) not about steel flowers or traveling pants, or (2) are not easy to watch with 2 young kids around the house due to “intense” content.

So, it’s time to kick out the woman and the kids, invite over the guys, and watch one, two, or all of these movies:

  1. 300 – I’ve had this movie in Blu-Ray since it came out.  My not watching it yet has made me question my own manhood.
  2. Live Free or Die Hard – also in Blu-Ray.  John McClane rules.
  3. No Country for Old Men – ’cause I want to see that actor I last saw in “The Goonies” get chased by a homicidal maniac in 1080 HD.  Good Christian fun!  Um…wait…
  4. I Am Legend – how good can a movie be where Will Smith has no one around him to hear his “witty” remarks?  Apparently, pretty good, says Dave.
  5. Cloverfield – I picked this one up today.  You can’t get any more intense than having a giant monster tear through New York City.  That is, unless you’re a sappy, older Ferris Beueller starring in a different movie where you’re running from another giant lizard through the same city with a goofy bunch of French Legionnaires.
  6. Transformers – I mean, come on…it’s Transformers!!!
  7. JUST ADDED:  Beowulf – it has got to be more entertaining than the story I read in high school.  Yikes…bad memories.

Any other suggestions?

Comments
  1. Dana aka Mrs. Moviepastor says:

    In my opinion ( I know I am not a guy… but I like a lot of movies that most women don’t) I didn’t like Cloverfield.

    ~dana

  2. Interesting. I’ve heard that it’s a love it or hate it movie. And that Cloverfield actually made people nauseated and they had to leave the theater (not from anything gross, just the camera moving around so much).

  3. Kyle says:

    Shayla and I watched I am Legend Last week. She likes Sci-Fi. cool.

Leave a Reply

