Weekend wrap-up

Posted: March 30, 2008 in Church, Crosspoint, Family, Happenings, Music, Uncategorized, Worship

Sitting here tonight wrapping up what has been a long, good-though-it-flirted-with-disaster weekend.  Here’s the short list:

  • If you get on the road at 5 a.m. Saturday morning, you’re still waking up, there are no other cars on the road, and you and the person in the car with you are talking about everything from fishing to the fact that it’s still dark outside, always…ALWAYS…watch your speedometer.  Or you might find yourself doing 60 in a 45 without even realizing it.  At least that’s what it said on my ticket.  CRAP!!  I hadn’t even been awake 20 minutes…and not on the road 10 minutes.  As I pulled away from the Decatur cop, I thought, “This is REALLY going to be a long day…the sun hasn’t even come up, and it already sucks!!”
  • BUT…the day turned out to be awesome.  (1) The cop “encouraged” me (in a weird sort of “I’m writing you at ticket but here’s how you get out of it” way) to go to traffic school.  Okay…4 hours, or $130.  Hmm… Let me think… Can’t you just rip up my ticket??  Or can I just get a credit since my wife has already done traffic school?  (Sorry, Stacey…had to get that in there to make me feel better about myself).  Still, nice to see the cop actually acknowledge my clean driving record for the past 15 years.  (2) I’ve only had 2 tickets in 20 years of driving (and 15 years apart at that).  Okay, I should’ve gotten one when driving 110 mph in downtown Jacksonville back in like 1993, but no.  I have to get one when I’m just not paying attention when the only cars on the road are me and the police car.  But 2 tickets in 20 years…I know people who’ve gotten 3 tickets in one day, so I will not complain anymore about that.  (3) The rest of the trip (coming and going) was uneventful.  (4) Where we went was an awesome way to spend a morning.  I can’t reveal what it is just yet (some of you may know, but keep a lid on it), but it was worth all the driving, video taping, and waiting around while Dave got to do all the fun stuff.  Next time…maybe make him film it?  Anyone?
  • Jim N’ Nicks on the way home = awesome.  Great BBQ, but better chicken fingers.  Yes, I go to a BBQ place for chicken fingers.  Why?  The chicken fingers are made from scratch.  So is the honey mustard (also called the nectar of the gods).  And cheese biscuits…with honey butter.  Man, I could live off that food.  I did when I was in Birmingham.  Crap, that’s probably how I gained weight.  D’oh!

Anyway, that was just Saturday.  Here’s Sunday:

  • There were several obstacles that we had to overcome to make this morning happen.  Mainly, J-mo came down with the “-itis,” and was pretty ill this week, so we couldn’t rehearse with him.  Before I go on, you need to know that J-mo is the kind of guy that does not get sick very often (and does not like to bail out of anything even if he does).  So for him to feel bad enough that he had to sit out rehearsal, I know that he was feeling unusually ill.  In any event, re-scheduling rehearsals with the other guys meant I had to have 2 separate mini-rehearsals with ‘pieces’ of the band on both Thurdsay and Friday evening.  Finally, we wound up having to scratch a new song we were going to teach the crowd this week (having no time to rehearse it as a whole band). 
  • BUT, things this morning went great, anyway.  J-mo made it, we had enough time to rehearse, and – other than Kyle stalling AFTER the countdown ended for like…30 seconds…not being able to find his guitar pick (which, by the way, was clearly visible to everyone but him stuck between the strings on his fretboard…LOL!) – everything came together.
  • A big thanks to Kyle for showing up and helping us out with the opening song.  His inner 80s “guitar hero” shined brightly this morning.  Dude, it was fun playing onstage with you again.
  • A big thanks to J-mo for playing drums, though he felt like crap.  You’d never have known he was still ill.  Couldn’t have done it without you, bro.
  • The opening song is THE REASON I learned to play keyboard back in the 80s. 
  • Had 163 people at church today.  That’s only 10 less than the Easter crowd, which means our momentum was not just the Easter surge.  Woohoo!
  • Anyway, here’s the setlist we finished up with:
  1. Jump – Van Halen (played this instrumentally [no vocals]…Kyle nailed the guitar solo).  The response at the end of this song proves to me that people love 80s rock.
  2. Rain Down – Delirious
  3. All We Need – Charlie Hall
  4. Hallelujah – Hillsong United
  5. More Today than Yesterday – Michael John Clement (older song, but perfectly fit the message…)

Anyway, that’s a wrap.  I hope this week proves to be as exciting as this past one has been.  Except, Kevin (me), let’s try to not get ticketed this time around, mmh-hmm?.  There’s a punchline about the whole event Dave may use next week…  It’s priceless.

Leave a Reply

