Is it 8…or 9?

Posted: March 8, 2008 in Church, Family, Happenings, Weather

I have a love/hate relationship with Daylight Savings Time.  I love having more light in the evenings.  Who doesn’t?  But what I hate is this transition.  That means – right now – I’m getting ready to lose an hour of sleep.  That’s not good if sleep is already elusive for you.  Sure, the clock says 8:00, and given what I have to do tonight, I should be in bed by 10:00.  However, DST mess with today’s unusually good time management, and I really won’t be getting in bed until 11:00.  And no, don’t give me any of that “the time changes over at 2, not 10” crap – a LOST hour of sleep is a LOST hour of sleep.  Really, who cares?

But I’m griping.  I’ll just blame that on the prednizone.  That stuff is potent.  It makes your heart race.  It makes you so you can’t sleep.  And the agitation:  One minute I feel like climbing the walls, the next I feel like punching my reflection in the mirror while shouting, “What are YOU looking at??!!?”  I know my wife and kids can’t wait until this week is over (tomorrow).  I sure can’t wait to actually sleep more than 5 hours a night again myself.

Speaking of griping:  We drove 2 hours today for the event we were going to videotape only to find the event canceled as soon as we arrived.  To say “that sucks” is an understatement.  Instead, I’ll reach into the Bart Simpson reportoire and say:  “This is the suckiest suck that ever did suck.”  (Note:  If you don’t like the word “suck,” I’m sorry.  Saying “that’s too bad” just doesn’t have enough weight behind it to convey how Dave and I feel about this weather-related snafu).

On top of all this, Stacey has pulled a muscle in her neck which has made her absolutely miserable today.  Can anything else go wrong?  Oops…better cross that line out before I jinx myself.

***

Seriously, I should not complain…not one bit.  Considering all that has gone wrong, a lot went right:

  • We had snow this morning.  It wasn’t much, and it melted by noon, but my kids were thrilled to see a snow actually STICK to the ground.  I think Kailyn even made a snowball (a small one, but a snowball is a snowball).  Winter actually felt – and looked – like winter!
  • Five hours in a car with friends is still time spent with friends – laughing at our plight, brainstorming alternate ideas, and so on and so on…
  • Kailyn managed to attend 2 out of the 3 birthday parties she was invited to today (any is a miracle, considering how Stacey felt).  Betty and Julie graciously helped get Kailyn (and Zachary) where they needed to be.  It’s AWESOME to have friends who are there for you when you need them.
  • Overall, I’ve been feeling better.  Not getting much sleep last night didn’t help (so a bit of the burning skin thing returned), but I feel much better than I did this time last week.  Here’s hoping I’m finally seeing the end of this…”whatever”…it is.
  • On the worst days, God is still God, God is still good, and – today, in a way only He can do – He can help us find the good things that triumph amidst the bad.

“And I know my God saved the day, and I know His word never fails, and I know my God made a way for me…Salvation is here.”  Salvation Is Here, Kristian Stanfill.

Leave a Reply

