Disciplined?

Posted: February 28, 2008 in Church, Family, Happenings

Not yet.  I still have a long way to go. 

The positives:

  • Habits – The one thing I have done since “Evolve” is get out of bed 30 minutes earlier.  Okay, that sounds lame, but it’s amazing what getting up 30 minutes earlier will do for your daily productivity.  It’s the difference between getting things done and feeling rushed to get things done.
  • Eating – I have reduced my food intake (except for Friday night…it’s hard to cook out and not eat…a lot).  One way I’ve done this is that I’ve eaten out a lot less.  When I eat, I eat until I’m not hungry, not until I’m full.
  • Spending time with my wife.
  • Staying busy/productive – with Evolve and my anniversary last week, organizing all my stuff for taxes this week, and all the daily stuff in-between, I can’t help but to stay busy.  The downside is that this is very “reactive” to the demands of daily life, whereas my goal is to become much more “proactive” (intentionally disciplined) – so I don’t slow down once the “busy-ness” of the the past few weeks and the weeks approaching Easter pass.

The negatives:

  • Everything else.
  • I still eat too much…better, but still need more progress.
  • I still don’t go to bed on time.
  • I still don’t spend enough time with God.
  • I haven’t been to the gym in 2 weeks – I need to go so that a ‘hiccup’ (being sick, being busy) doesn’t turn into a long-term bad habit.
  • My house is cleaner than ever, but still remains one laundry load/dishwasher load away from being thrown back into chaos.
  • I still need to get ahead.

Change doesn’t happen overnight.  I know this, but it can be discouraging – even overwhelming – to think about how far I have to go.  Still, progress isn’t made without effort.

And a lot of grace.

Comments
  1. Jason says:

    Proud of you brother, keep it up.

Leave a Reply

