10 years (plus 2 days)

Posted: February 23, 2008 in Family

Thursday, my wife, Stacey, and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary.  I think both of us are equally stunned that 10 years have gone by so quickly. To look at our lives now and compare that to where we were 10 years ago is an amazing thing for us.

For those of you that don’t know, Stacey and I met way back in college in the fall of 1993 and had our first date on December 3 (Applebee’s and a movie…”The Three Musketeers,” I believe…wow, how’s that for showing your age??).  As soon as I graduated college that spring and she moved on to pharmacy school, we started a long-distance relationship that would last until February 1998, when we finally got married.  During those 4 years, we racked up a lot of miles on our cars driving between Birmingham and Atlanta.  Unfortunately, we racked up some pretty hefty phone bills, too (in the days before unlimited long distance plans).  We married on February 21, 1998 at Mountaintop Community Church, where I worked on staff at the time.

So ten years ago, there we were – starting out in an apartment, then moving in a few months to a 50-year-old 3-bedroom, 1-bath money pit in Homewood, AL.  She’s working at Walgreen’s, I’m working at Mountaintop.  We have 1 dog and 1 cat.

So much has happened since then.  On the surface, the changes are apparent enough.  We moved from Birmingham to Decatur, AL to become a part of Crosspoint in 2002 –  major change for us.  We have two kids, Kailyn and Zachary.  We have 3 dogs (more if you count the ones we’ve had and no longer have), 2 cats.  I’ve owned a Pathfinder, a Chevy Z71 pickup, an Isuzu Rodeo, a Ford Expedition, and an Xterra.  She’s owned a Chevy Celebrity, a Ford Contour, a Montero, an Infiniti G20, a Mazda6, and a Montero…again.  I used to be skinny with hair!  (I need to post a picture just to make that believable).

Under the surface, our relationship has been tested at every level.  We’ve dealt with family issues and criticism, emotional issues, career issues, and life-changes that at times have nearly torn us apart.  If I can speak candidly, I’m surprised we made it through our first…or our second…year of marriage.  We’ve been at each other’s throats.  We’ve driven each other nuts.

But here we are.  And those times and those early struggles – and that little house in Homewood – seem to be distant memories.  In fact, the past 10 years have been amazing, and I’m floored that I’ve been able to share this journey with Stacey.

Ten years in, I can proudly state that I love my wife, I love my kids, and I love my church.  What God brings us in the next 10 years will be an amazing thing to see.

Comments
  1. marion says:

    I have been doing my own research and have been reaching out to find out what people do to worship God that might not be what we see as the conventional idea of worship. Alot of people hear the word worship and think song and music. My question is How and can you worship God in other ways. Here is an example… I think Thomas Kinkade Worships God paiting. His paintings are to Glorify God. Any ideas and maby a possible blog topic. my addy…xx_muggles_xx@yahoo.com tell me your ideas on different ways you and others in your sphere of contact worship God in other unique ways.

Leave a Reply

