Long time, no bloggie

Posted: February 5, 2008 in Church, Family, Happenings, Perspective

Time to dust off the keyboard and finally write a post of some sort.  I don’t want to keep my whopping 4-5 fans waiting (and I may be exaggerating at 4 or 5).

Lots going on, so maybe I’ll just talk about it by category:

CHURCH:

Had a great time wrapping up “Simple Church” 2 Sundays ago, then starting “Money Myths” this past Sunday.  I want to say “thanks” again to all the people who helped out with the videos for Simple Church series – some acted, some helped with the scripts, some even just made themselves available as babysitters while we filmed.  In the end, you guys helped make 3 of the funniest videos we’ve shown at church.

It’s also awesome that our attendance is feeling some momentum.  We had a record high this past Sunday.  I’ve had a chance to meet some of our new attendees, and they seem like great people.  Can’t wait to get to know them more.

This coming Sunday, I’m heading up to Chattanooga with Brent.  Journey Church is having their 2nd preview service before their Easter launch date, and they’re still assembling their band.  So we’re going to join with the band members they already have to help them pull off the preview service.  Wow… when did we become the church that helped others rather than needing help????  Wait…we still do!  Seriously, it’s awesome to be a part of the ‘larger’ world church once in a while.  I’m really looking forward to it.

HOME:

Best to just hit the high points:

  • – I hate puppies.  Unfortunately, my wife and my two kids love puppies.  ‘Nuff said.
  • – It’s typical stuff – kids in school, not enough sleep, cleaning to do, whee!
  • – I’ve got LOTS of stuff I want to sell.  So, if my blog starts looking like a “classifieds” section soon, forgive me.  I’ve got to get rid of the excess crap we have laying in/around/on everything.
  • – My gym attendance has been somewhat lacking, but it is already making a difference in the overall way I feel.  I sleep better.  I have more energy.  Now, if only I could lose the weight.

THOUGHTS:

The past few weeks have been really encouraging.  I can feel God moving in our church, and that’s just an amazing thing to see.  I think/I hope more and more people are catching the vision that church is not for them, but for the people we do not know yet.  Church does not exist to satiate and over-spiritualize already-Christians, but to be Christ’s Body – doing HIS work in the world to reach people with the good news that salvation is here, God is real/relevant, and that getting connected with Him is an awesome ride!

Can you imagine what’s possible if we ALL catch that vision?

Leave a Reply

