Clark Griswold is my hero

Posted: December 17, 2007 in Family, Happenings, Uncategorized

I spend a disproportionate amount of time around Christmas hanging Christmas lights on my house:  Icicle lights on the roof, lighted wreaths (6), 3 lighted deer, 2 lighted trees, and 5 lighted bushes.  Inside:  9-foot tree in the living room, a Christmas village (of pharamacies, nonetheless), and various odds and ends.

Has all the work paid off?  Dave, who lives across the street, commented that he needed his sunglasses at night because of my house.  That makes me proud :-).

I’ll be straight up:  I love Christmas.  I state thise proudly, because it seems to be increasingly “in” these days to hate Christmas – the 24/7 Christmas music stations, the lights, anything “Christmas”-related at all.    Oh, well.  I’m not one of those guys.  I’ve loved it since I was a kid.  Back then, I’d practically get “giddy” (yes, I said “giddy”) when the first house in the neighborhood put up their lights every year (back then it was the first weekend after Thanksgiving, not this mid-November thing that happens nowadays).  I was the kid who couldn’t sleep Christmas Eve.  Christmas time for me was a time of Christmas Eve candelight services, driving around looking at Christmas lights, A Charlie Brown Christmas, listening to my dad play the Christmas albums he loved so much, claymation Rudolph TV specials, school Christmas parties (not “holiday” or “winter” parties), playing Christmas songs on the piano (I did take piano lessons, after all), oogling the JCPenney toy Wish Book, wonderful (no-drama) family gatherings, and depression on December 26th when the reality set in that the holiday had come and gone…again.  As the Narrator in the movie “A Christmas Story” stated, it’s the holiday around which the entire calendar year of my childhood rotated.

When Christmas morning finally rolled around, my brother and I raced downstairs like a couple of downhill skiers to see what booty Santa left for us.  Some of the more memorable moments over the years:  The Tyco race track, the Dukes of Hazzard slot race track (complete with a “jump” ramp in the middle), the HO-guage Tyco “Clementine” train set, Jetfire (Transformers), a remote-controlled Ferrari, a basketball goal, a ping-pong table, a pedal-powered fire truck, my brother’s Murray BMX bike (on a Christmas where it was 5 degrees outside), a microscope (my nerd history knows no limits), an Erector set, Stomper battery-powered 4x4s, an Atari 2600, a Sega Master System, and an Am/FM/Cassette boom box with detachable speakers (wow!).

Okay, it isn’t that exciting anymore for me as an adult.  I guess you grow up.

Well, only as much as I feel like it ;-).

Comments
  1. Jason says:

    No GI Joes?

  2. well, I did get that really cool G.I. Joe Hueycobra helicopter one year…Christmas or birthday, can’t remember…but it was freakin’ awesome.

Leave a Reply

