Tech Upgrade

Posted: November 27, 2007 in Computers, Family, Gaming, Happenings

Since I can’t be as cool as Dave with his MacBook Pro and his “Look at me, I can boot into Windows on a Mac” cool factor, I’m going to attempt to upgrade my desktop PC this week by adding a 2nd hard drive and loading Windows Vista on it (while keeping XP on the existing drive).  If all goes well, I should be able to boot my PC into either operating system.  I’ve scoured forums and tech articles to makes sure I’m going to do this correctly, but there will probably still be much weeping and gnasing of teeth, since few things can be as testing as upgrading an OS (operating system).

But Crysis and Call of Duty 4 are just begging to be played in DirectX 10 (which is Vista-only).  If you don’t know what I’m talking about, simply imagine playing a game on a computer monitor that is as close to being photorealistic as current technology makes possible – then being able to pretty much blow everything up!  Heh.

Truthfully, I know you should never been an early adopter of an OS…at least not on purpose.  My wife and I both got our first PCs back when Windows 95 was hot off the shelves, and that could be an adventure in freezes, programs not working, computers not booting up, hours on hold with “tech support,” and the dreaded blue screen of death.  I’m surprised I never actually threw either of those PCs out the window within a week. 

So, we got smart and waited on Windows 98 SE (second edition) to come out.  It was great.  Worked wonderfully.  Why ever change?

I have no idea what I was thinking.  My biggest moment of technical boobosity was deciding to upgrade to Windows ME as soon as it came out.  Whoa.  Many late night computer headaches with that one as I was up into the wee hours of the morning many times trying to figure out how to get my computer to work properly so I could work properly.  I think I still have nightmares where I find myself waking up in the fetal position with a mouse cord wrapped around my neck saying over and over, “Bill Gates is Satan.  Bill Gates is Satan.  SAAATAAAAN!!”

Obviously, Windows XP was a much welcome relief when it came out years ago.  And today, I want the best of both worlds – my new OS (Vista) and my old OS (XP) – so I can stick with the old while I work out the inevitable kinks in the new.

On a side note, my dad used to come to me all the time for help with his PC (I used to hate that – it would tie me up for hours on the phone sometimes – but now that he’s gone, I actually miss it).  To this day, I don’t know what he thought made me some sort of computer guru.  All I ever learned about computers was what I learned when I had to fix something I screwed up in the first place.

Leave a Reply

