Whew!

Posted: November 25, 2007 in Church, Happenings

This afternoon has been nice break from the hectic-ness (is that a word?) of the past few days.  From the moment we got back from Atlanta (at midnight on Friday), it’s just been crazy!  We were up until 2:00 a.m. just unloading the car and getting the kids and ourselves ready for bed.  Saturday, I was up before 8:00 because my kids were up, and started working on the message for Sunday (I was up to preach since Dave’s been recovering from his surgery).  After a break (a break?) for band practice from 11:00 – 12:30, I pretty much worked on the message, my Powerpoint, the announcement videos, and the EasyWorship flow until I was able to crawl in bed at 1:00 a.m.  Got up at 6:00 this morning, loaded the car, set up the stage, rehearsed, led worship, preached, led worship again, broke down, grabbed lunch, came home and FINALLY got some much-needed sleep in the form of a two-hour nap.  During all this, I’ve also been fighting off a cold!  That’s just not fair!

Seriously – though it sounds like I’m complaining, I’m really not.  It feels great to be busy, especially when it involves Crosspoint.  I love my church and I love what I get to do there.  Being tired just means we’re working hard.  Being sick is just a part of life.  But the reality is people need to know about Christ, and that is the truth whether we’re sick, tired, or whatever.

Anyway, I hope this morning went well.  I was able to stay focused preaching in spite of the massive wad of phlegm in the back of my throat that literally kept me from swallowing from time to time.  It only made me stumble once, where I actually just had to stop and say, “Sorry, guys…I am dealing with a cold.”  I think I said something more stupid than that, but….alas.  I was able to move on.

Tomorrow, the crazy train starts up all over again.  At least this afternoon has been a good time to recharge.

Leave a Reply

