Sunday night thoughts (that I didn’t get around to until now)

Posted: November 13, 2007 in Church, Family, Gaming, Music, Weather

We had a lot of fun at Crosspoint Sunday morning.  Dave concluded his “All In” series talking about giving (tithing, etc.), and ended with a powerful illustration using 45 lbs. of Runts candy – I’ll have to post video of that this week if I can get around to it.

Anyway, here’s the setlist from Sunday:

  1. Open the Eyes of My Heart – Passion Worship Band
  2. Salvation – Passion Worship Band
  3. All We Need – Charlie Hall
  4. Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone) – Chris Tomlin
  5. Take My Life – Jeremy Camp
  6. Your Grace Is Enough – Chris Tomlin

We started a bit “reverent,” if you will, by playing “Open the Eyes…” slowly, then ramping up strong into “Salvation” and “All We Need.”  Amazing Grace” started slow, but built more powerfully and heavier than we normally perform it.  Dave then did a welcome, then we played “Take My Life” as a ‘performance’ song to get people thinking about bringing our lives as offerings before God.  Dave preached, and we concluded the service with “Your Grace Is Enough.”

Good crowd, good energy.

….

Here’s some random stuff: 

  • On the down side, I’m getting sick.  It’s about time.  It’s mid-November.  I was beginning to worry I would make it through the fall without getting sick at all.  It just wouldn’t be fall/winter in Decatur, Alabama if I didn’t wake up in the middle of the night with my sinus passages completely blocked and my throat burning like I’d swallowed a piece of lit charcoal.
  • It rained today.  Hard.  Actually heard thunder.  In an area plagued by ‘exceptional’ drought, the pouring rain (even the thunder/lighting) was very welcome. 
  • Thanksgiving is looking “hosed” this year.  So far, my wife is unable to find coverage for Wednesday or Friday next week.  This really sucks, because I want to be able to go to Atlanta and spend some time with my mother and brother, this being the first major holiday since my father died.  Pray that this works out.
  • I’ve spent the past several days doing a furniture swap and reorganizing my kids’ rooms.  Holy crap, my kids have a lot of stuff they don’t need (must get that from their parents).  Anyway, it was a lot of work and I’ve got a sore back to prove it.
  • Spent $65 on one tank of gas in my wife’s Montero.  (On a side note, why do they design cars to run only on Premium gas?)
  • My inner PC-gaming nerd is re-emerging as Call of Duty 4, Timeshift, and Crysis are all shipping this month.  Now, if I can only find time to play.  D’oh!!
Leave a Reply

