TGIF

Posted: November 9, 2007 in Family

Okay, I’m old enough to remember when that phrase became popular when I was a little kid in the 70s (yes, in the 70s…yikes), so I’m going to use it proudly…

…then I’ll worry about my manhood later.

Maybe we could come up with alternatives:

  • HCIFA – Holy crap, it’s Friday already!
  • WFDIF – Whoopty freakin’ doo, it’s Friday!
  • WTHHTT – What the heck happened to Thursday?
  • IHTWS – I have to work Saturday.

Okay, that’s stupid.  But, seriously, the term “weekend” doesn’t have the same oomph it had when I was much younger.

First – When you work in ministry, Friday doesn’t mark the end of your week, but usually the moment when things ramp up the most as you prepare for Sunday.  After all, none of us in ministry procrastinates, right?  Not me.  No, never…ever.

Second – My wife now works most Saturdays, too, so Friday no longer marks the end of her week, either.  Rather, her week ends Saturdays at 1:00 p.m.

Third – Taking care of kids doesn’t give you a weekend break.  I now understand why my parents did not look forward to summer, when my brother and I were home all day.  Heh.

I think that’s why it’s so important to take advtantage of the time you do have – whether it’s that hour-long gap after the kids go to sleep and your own bedtime, or it’s that short – but significant – Saturday that begins after 1:00 p.m.

Leave a Reply

