Sunday wrap-up

Posted: October 14, 2007 in Church, Music

Setlist:

  • Salvation Is Here (Kristian Stanfill)
  • Everlasting God (arr. by Lincoln Brewster)
  • Doxology (arr. by David Crowder)
  • SPECIAL MUSIC:  Storm (Lifehouse)
  • Wholly Yours (David Crowder) 
  • My Savior, My God (Aaron Shust)

Today was a standalone topic, entitled “Don’t Quit.”  After Dave’s fairly serious colon “explosion” last month and subsequent discouragement he faced while recovering, he appropriately preached about handling times in our lives when we are discouraged and just want to give up.  It was the first time he’s preached in a month, so it was GREAT to have him back onstage.

We started with Salvation Is Here, Everlasting God, and the Doxology.  Then, Dave preached (after a promo video for the upcoming “All In” series).  We drove the point of his message home as we performed “Storm” (which is an INCREDIBLE worship song of faith amidst life’s storms).  Then we wrapped things up with Wholly Yours and My Savior, My God.  All in all a good day…

…except…

My guitar went DRAMATICALLY out of tune after the first song.  I don’t know if it was simply aging strings, the fluctuating room temperature, or Satan himself, but it was not pleasant.  If you’re a musician, an out-of-tune guitar is like fingernails on a chalkboard…or a baby crying the whole time on a flight from Atlanta to Tampa (whee).  Your whole body tenses up as you cringe with every strum of the guilty string.  My high-end ESP Eclipse suddenly sounded like my 5-year-old daughter’s First Act ‘toy’ guitar – AFTER my 2-year-old has played with the tuning knobs on it.  Not pretty.

Okay, maybe it was not that bad.  But it was bad.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have the time to retune it accurately or even swap guitars.  I did my best on the fly, but alas… all I really succeeded in doing was making a boob out of myself by drawing attention to the problem…  Hey, we’re only human, right?

 In the end, I still think everything came together, especially the Lifehouse song, which I had the opportunity to play keys on for a change.  Little chance a Roland workstation will go out of tune ;-).

Leave a comment