Worship, feet, A/C, and a little word called “sovereignty”

Posted: September 17, 2007 in Church, Happenings, Music

– Any new good worship music out there?  I’ve found a lot of stuff, but some of it just doesn’t have that “vibe” that I like.  I mean, what’s the next “Make a Joyful Noise” or “Mighty to Save?”  The Bible says, “Sing to the Lord a new song.”  I love that – a challenge to keep our music/worship fresh so that it doesn’t become stale or repetitive.  I’ve downloaded worship music from Mark Roach, Jeremy Riddle, Seventh Day Slumber, Tim Hughes, Steve Fee, Thousand Foot Crutch, and others, but I’m always looking for more. 

– A side frustration in looking for worship music:  I love the innovation and music a lot of guys out there, but – honestly – some of their stuff is almost too complicated vocally to be useful.  Of course, I LOVE the songs…they have depth, meaning, and I find myself singing them in the car.  However – and I know this is just my opinion –  a reality of worship is that the best songs are (usually) vocally easier to learn, easier to sing, and – thus – easier for the crowd to engage in worship.

– My right foot hurts.  Bad.  I’m flat-footed, and occasionally (like once every 8 years), the bones in my feet rub together and inflame the nerves/tissue in my feet.  I went to a podiatrist years ago, and they gave me Indomethacin to help reduce the inflammation.  So, I guess I need to find a podiatrist.  Whee!  But the pain is awful…like having  a nail driven between the bones coming up from your 3rd and 4th toes…

– Splurged and bought a portable A/C unit on clearance at Home Depot for the upstairs bonus/music/computer room at my house.  I’ve had a crappy 5,000 BTU window unit in that room for 3+ years which only exists to suck electricity but not cool anything.  This new one is a sleek, 10,000 BTU monster which finally gets the room COLD.  Why mention this?  I can’t tell you how many things – blog entries/games played/music transcribed – I’ve done while sweating my (Balaam’s friend) off – especially in a drought-stricken, 100+ degree summer heat wave like this past summer has been.

– In spite of Dave being out of commission, Sunday went great.  I’ll post more about it later… but God is good, in charge (hence the ‘sovereign’ thing in my post title), and he made himself known in a powerful way Sunday.  Just a reminder that everything that happens good in church happens because of Him, and we’re graciously allowed to be along for the ride most of the time.

Comments
  1. […] tito wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerpt […]

Leave a Reply

