Sl-e-e-p-y

Posted: September 1, 2007 in Happenings

For some reason, I haven’t been able to sleep well in over a week.  Nothing like having your head hit the pillow, then spending the next couple of hours staring at a spinning ceiling fan over your head.

Whee.

I feel like Job at times:

1 “Does not man have hard service on earth? Are not his days like those of a hired man? 2 Like a slave longing for the evening shadows, or a hired man waiting eagerly for his wages, 3 so I have been allotted months of futility, and nights of misery have been assigned to me. 4 When I lie down I think, ‘How long before I get up?’ The night drags on, and I toss till dawn. (Job 7:1-4).

I’m prone to bouts of insomnia, and it seems that the reasons vary – but there ALWAYS seems to be something:  An upset stomach, too much caffeine (not the problem lately), too much on my mind, inability to get comfortable, etc.  And the effect of losing sleep is compounded by the busy-ness of the following days, when I lack the energy to get things done, which increases worry, and the cycle repeats over and over.

I hate taking sleeping pills to counter the insomnia because they are (1) addictive (if you’re not careful) and (2) their effects last far longer than they should.  Nothing like getting up on a Sunday morning where you need to be awake and alert and the stupid sleeping pill you took the night before hasn’t worn off yet – long after it should have!

Solutions?

  • Maybe I should learn to relax more.  By relax, I mean no TV, no games, no music, no conversation – just SILENCE.  Time to simply breathe.
  • Maybe I should learn to worry less.  Worry doesn’t make anything better.  I believe that’s very biblical ;-).
  • Maybe, like Dave, I need a new mattress.  D’oh!  No money for that right now, so…maybe later.
  • Maybe I need to be in shape.  I used to sleep GREAT when I was in shape.  I don’t care what people say, I think that’s a real factor.

The odd thing is, I can sleep great in the middle of the day if I close my eyes.  Supwifdat?

Leave a Reply

