Submerged

Posted: July 9, 2007 in Family, Perspective

I took my kids to their first swimming lessons today.  Although it’s (honestly) kind of boring to sit there while they learn to swim, it is still one of those memorable moments in my children’s lives, so I’m glad not to miss out on that.  “Daddy, I’m learning how to swim.”  And that is cool to witness.  It is amazing to watch them learn to do things that I – as an adult – do not even think about when I’m swimming:  Knowing how to float, not breathing underwater, etc. 

I do not really remember my swimming lessons as a child, so I can only assume – after watching my kids today – that learning to swim is a scary thing for a child.  Zachary really panicked any time you submerged him up to his mouth.  Kailyn would get excited and start kicking wildly as she started to realize she was propelling herself – with no assistance – through the water.

If all goes well, though, they both will be far more comfortable in the water in a couple of weeks than they are now.

I discovered a Lifehouse song tonight called “Storm.”  The song has me mesmerized, especially after watching my kids at their first swim lesson.

Lyrics:

 How long have I been in this storm?
So overwhelmed by the ocean’s shapeless form
Water’s getting harder to tread
With these waves crashing over my head

If I could just see you
Everything would be all right
If I could see you
This darkness would turn to light

And I will walk on water
And you will catch me if I fall
And I will get lost into your eyes
And everything will be all right
And everything will be all right

I know you didn’t bring me out here to drown
So why am I ten feet under and upside down
Barely surviving has become my purpose
Because I’m so used to living underneath the surface

And I will walk on water
And you will catch me if I fall
And I will get lost into your eyes
And everything will be all right
And everything will be all right

It’s an amazing song that has made me think about life and ministry and the sequence of events that has led me to where I am today.  And I find myself realizing there are times when it’s difficult to trust God and there are times when God seems so distant that I’m just going through the motions of getting things done.

Barely surviving has become my purpose.  Has it?  Am I comfortable living underneath the surface, not quite trusting all that God could do in my life?

Every week is another opportunity to make a difference.  Every person I come in contact with is another chance to build a relationship.  Every Sunday morning is a one hour opportunity to grab someone’s attention long enough to tell them about Christ.  All the work I put into a Sunday morning ought to be more than barely surviving.  It ought to be everything to me.  Ministry ought to consume me, not in a legalistic, works-driven effort to please God, but in a way that my own life reflects a love for others that at least attempts to parallel Jesus’ love for others.

Maybe I’m still learning how to swim.  Maybe I always will be.  But why swim ‘submerged’ when I could be walking on water?  Should I settle for anything less than the best from myself?  Would anyone else settle for less than that?  Would Christ want less than that from me?

I think God is waiting, willing, and able to do amazing things in us and through us.  And though we delude ourselves into thinking we’re waiting on him to act, maybe the truth is that he’s waiting on us to respond – to act – according to the amazing love and grace he’s already shown us.

It’s time to step out of the boat.

Leave a Reply

