Impossible Dreams

Posted: July 6, 2007 in Perspective

Had a difficult time sleeping last night.  Must’ve been the Thai Phoon Shrimp at Ruby Tuesday’s.  I dunno.  In any event, I had all these dreams filled with bizarre imagery…like some sort of Sigmund Freud meets M.C. Escher clash of memories and impossible environments.  At one point, I was driving a car when I came upon an impossibility steep slope descending in front of me.  As the car accelerates downhill at some ridiculous 75-degree angle, the entire environment turns into square-shaped objects and the car careens out of control.  But rather than suffer some sort of horrific impact with a giant square green/brown block (a tree?), I momentarily snapped awake.  Then I fell back to sleep almost immediately, where I found myself wandering through the woods and suddenly wound up at a restaurant that only served only taco shells (?)…in the woods, nonetheless.  I left quickly, only to find myself trying to steal the General Lee (Dukes of Hazzard car) fom this incredibly angry girl who hated the show.  Only this General Lee was more like Herbie from the Disney movies, since it could move/drive itself.  I literally at one point just stood there – in my dream – looking around, asking….what the heck??

Then I woke up.  For good this time.  And I’m exhausted this morning.  I absolutely hate not getting a good night’s sleep, which is – sadly – becoming a more frequent occurence the older I get.  Maybe it’s the stress of life.  Maybe it’s the occasional caffeine intake.  Maybe it’s that my body can’t handle spicy food anymore.  I really don’t know.  What I do know is that my mind is racing at bedtime, and that often carries into my dreams.  Night can become a confusing, dark sea of images and bizarre experiences.

The temptation after this happens is to simply make up the sleep I need.  Right now, at 7:40 a.m., I really want to just lay back down and go back to sleep.  But to do so would be to waste time I need to be spending working on important things.  Proverbs 6:10-11 says:

“A little extra sleep, a little more slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest, and poverty will pounce on you like a bandit; scarcity will attack you like an armed robber.”

Though any sleep I got at this point I don’t think would count as “extra” (since I had little to begin with), I cannot spend my time whining about the sleep lost, unless I want to find myself later in poverty of incompleted tasks and robbed of the time I needed to get them done.  In ministry, life is indeed to short – and the task at hand too important – for me to become a sleeping, unproductive oaf.

Leave a Reply

