“Easy” Button

Posted: April 25, 2007 in Perspective

Easy Button

I bought an easy button yesterday – a real, magical “easy” button.  Staples had a whole rack of them for sale.  For $3.99 you get the big red button that says, “That was easy,” when you press it.  For $1.00 more, I could’ve gotten a boxed version.  (Yes, I, too, was thinking, what the heck?).  Before you think I’m nuts, let me clarify that I made this purchase as a prop for a video we’re shooting for church.

I know the thing is just a prop, with about as much real-life usefulness as a magic 8-ball or a pet rock.  However, deep down I find myself wishing it was real.

– “Click” – all my bills are paid.

– “Click” – all the things on my to-do list are done.

– “Click” – clean house.

– “Click” – instant guitar skills.

– “Click” – instant skinny Kevin.

But, alas, no matter how many times I click the button, nothing happens.  I keep hoping…especially about the weight thing.

But nothing is really ever easy.  Not if it’s something that’s really important.  Those things deserve my time and my energy.  I think things only become “easy” once we’ve mastered the skill of devoting the right amount of time and energy into something.  Then it becomes natural.  Then it becomes truly easy.  Because we only get good at the things we actually care enough about to get off our butts and actually do.

Leave a Reply

