Satan hates me…

Posted: April 5, 2007 in Family, Happenings

Abby  Yesterday, one of our 3 dogs, Abby, escaped from the backyard.  I came home after picking Kailyn and Zachary up from school to find the gate wide open and two of the three dogs missing.  Though Abby still hasn’t turned up, Sasha (our new chow/spitz mix) ran to me from 2 yards away.  Schastye, our other husky, was – oddly – sitting in the middle of the backyard, probably never noticing that the gate was open.  Schastye is an escape artist who has escaped numerous fences over the years either by digging under them or climbing over them (yes, actually climbing like a cat), so the only explanation I have for her not being missing is she just didn’t see the opportunity.

Abby is my favorite of our 3 dogs, so I spent a disproportionate amount of time looking for her yesterday and calling various animal shelters.  She’s only gotten out of the fence one time in the past, but turned up just one yard over.  So this is a bit unnerving that about 20 hours have passed and there’s no sign of her.  I’ve speculated all sorts things, that maybe even someone took her.

When we got Abby, she had a severe immuno-deficiency that led to her developing demededic mange.  Such a thing is genetic, so we had her spayed immediately.  When we first brought her home, she had no hair from her shoulder blades forward, her eyes were swollen nearly shut, and the whole area was raw and infected.  We spent a lot of time at the vet nursing her back to health.  She had one relapse before she was a year old that led to an infection so serious, we were certain she was going to die.  Fortunately, after several days of lying uselessly on a rug by our fireplace, she recovered.

But now she’s gone.  And we’re watching, waiting.  And it surprises me how saddened I am by all this.  With 2 kids, I haven’t been able to give my dogs any attention like they used to get when we were kid-free.  But as my kids have grown, they’ve started to love to play with our dogs, and Kailyn keeps asking me, “When’s Abby coming home?”  How do you answer that?

*** 

On top of this, I woke up this morning with a terrible sore throat (probably allergy-related).  So I’m positive Satan hates me.  That’s okay, though.  I knew that already. 

Leave a Reply

